2016-09-04 14.19.59

VIEWPOINT: 2016 Audi TT Coupe 2.0T quattro S tronic – By Harry, Age 14

Posted by

What does a a 14-year-old car nut think of Audi’s sport coupe?

The team at BestRide includes both male and female writers with ages from the mid-30s and up. Some of us are engineers by education, some journalists by training, and some can build a car up from the ground. What we don’t have on the team is a freshman in high school who loves cars.

Until now. Meet Harry. This young man has been a car guy all his life. Having spent a significant amount of his life in Europe, his interests tilt toward European models (car models).

2016-09-04 14.19.59

Harry knows what he will be when he finishes school. He will be a pilot. This isn’t just a far-off dream, he has completed 15 hours of flight time over the past two years and plans to have the 40 required to take his pilot’s license test within two more. We reached out To Harry and asked him to give his impressions of the 2016 Audi TT Coupe 2.0T quattro S tronic.

Read our full review of this TT 2.0T quattro S tronic here.

Harry’s family has owned two Audis, an A6, and a Q5. He is familiar with the features and options the brand offers. When he first sat inside our TT Coupe 2.0T quattro S tronic for a test drive (as a passenger), he pointed out the Bang and Olufsen audio system.

Harry compared and contrasted the system with the Audi Bose system he has heard in the past, saying that he found the Bose unit a bit more compressed. He thought the system in the TT had it all. Strong bass and crisp clarity. Very close to what we had previously written in our review.

2016-09-01 14.45.34

During our drive, I demonstrated the Sport mode on the gear selector. That immediately impressed Harry. He asked about the Drive Select feature and thought the ability to program Individual mode was a feature that set the TT Coupe 2.0T quattro S tronic apart from lesser coupes.

2016-09-01 14.46.47

Harry also asked about the availability of a stick shift. He was pretty certain that Audi offers the TT with a manual in European markets. When asked what he found best about the interior he liked the diamond stitched, Nappa leather seats.

2016-09-02 16.02.31

When I prompted him for his opinion on the new Audi TFT screen system, Harry pointed out that the Google Earth mapping was almost unique among premium cars.

Harry and his family loved the TT’s looks. I was surprised to learn that his parents thought the $50K price of the TT was a bargain as equipped.

Harry reminds us of the auto writers we know, and the way they thought of cars growing up. Paying attention to the cars in his family, reading about cars, and actively pursuing his interest has given Harry a solid understanding of what makes a special car different from the pack. Harry’s approval of the TT was no secret during the time he spent looking it over and enjoying a test ride. We asked him if he would like to own a TT someday and his reply was, “definitely.”

Looking for a new or used car? Check out BestRide.com’s local search here.

John Goreham

John Goreham